Foodie Friday

lobsterFinally – we meet Friday again! While many of us are ready to start the weekend, I share a reminder that this Sunday is Mother’s Day in the U.S.!

I am a mother and I know that I will be wishing many other mothers a “Happy Mother’s Day” on Sunday.

Let me share a story. Every year I receive the same question: “What do you want for Mother’s Day?”. Every year, I give the same response, “To be left alone to read my paper and drink a Bloody Mary on the back patio”. (We’ll see if it finally happens this year.)

(Don’t get me wrong. I love all the homemade gifts and cards that my daughter makes for me. I treasure and save every single one.)

Thus, the topic of this Foodie Friday post – the Bloody Mary! (I really, really like them in certain situations.)

BMI’m going to give you a version of what most of us know as the classic recipe. But first, a fun fact: did you know that gin was the original liquor before vodka entered the picture (so legend goes)? Ew.

A version of the classic recipe

1 teaspoon sea salt
1 cup ice cubes
1 (1.5 fluid ounce) jigger vodka
3/4 cup spicy (or not) tomato-vegetable juice cocktail (e.g., V-8)
2 dashes Worcestershire sauce
1 dash hot pepper sauce (optional, in my opinion)
Salt and pepper to taste
1 stalk celery
2 stuffed green olives

Directions (optional re: salt on the glass rim)

  1. Salt the rim of a tall glass. To do so, pour salt onto a small plate, moisten the rim of the glass on a damp towel and press into the salt. Fill the glass with ice cubes.
  2. In a cocktail mixer full of ice, combine the vodka, vegetable juice, Worcestershire sauce, hot pepper sauce, salt and pepper. Shake vigorously and strain into the glass. Garnish with a stalk of celery and olives stuck onto a toothpick.

Lazy poll results

I kind of, sort of, took a poll. By that I mean I just asked some friends and colleagues how they liked to make their drink. Below is a summary of their responses.

Zing Zang Bloody Mary mix was the choice for, well, the mix.

As for the vodka, people were split between three choices: Tito’s (made in Texas), Grey Goose, and Stoli. (Disclaimer: Each site requires you to enter your birthday before you can peruse it.)

So

I hope everyone enjoys their weekend, and I’d love to have you share your favorite Bloody Mary recipes, or favorite place to order one.

Cheers!

The post “Foodie Friday” appeared first on Fumbling Towards Epiphany.

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

Leave a Reply

