Don’t Give Up On Building A Community

E_penguinsThis title could mean so many things. Maybe I’ll use it again; I don’t know.

Today, this title is about business and external communication tools – specifically, social media.

Some of you may already know that I’ve worked hard to utilize social media as a communication vehicle – when appropriate – at other companies. The first time was back when Geoff Livingston was publishing “Now Is Gone” and Ike Pigott had established how to use social media at the American Red Cross.

Now, as with all communication tools, social media has evolved.

I’ve been given a “light green” light at my current job regarding social media. (Now, I’m going to tell you a secret, which was not really a secret.) For the months of April and May, I have “aggressively” utilized the company’s social media accounts. Yes, it is a fine example of “ask for forgiveness later”.

Let me share the background:

Those in charge told me they support blogging, etc., but had never seen statistics that it works in our niche of an industry. It took me a few months, but I did find some stats. The beautiful part is that no one company in our industry has taken social media tools and used them effectively. Meaning, they promote themselves or their job openings. Not a single one has attempted to build a community!

This is where I think our company can differentiate itself. Looking at the existing stats, looking at the overall marketing communication plan, analytics, etc.; looking at the topics and concerns the audience has told us they want to know more about, what they believe and trust about the company, I can only think, “there’s gold in them hills”.

It will take time, but I think my company can position itself as a leader and build that social business community.

Let me know your thoughts and/or suggestions!

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Give Up On Building A Community”

  1. LOL! Thanks, Geoff! Hey, I remember you taking the time to speak to me on the phone as I began my foray into blogging. You are a constant source of inspiration and support. And one day we might meet in person!

Leave a Reply

