Whew!

Okay, I did it. I made a life decision and I let people know about it. Those of you who know me well know that this is HUGE. For those of you needing background, here it is: I’m an outgoing person, but when it comes to asking for help, I shy away from it. I’m a strong person and have, like many of you, overcome many hurdles in my life. And because I’ve handled most of them myself or with help from my family or a close friend, most people never knew what was going on in my personal life. I always believed that people didn’t really want to know and figured that if I kept going along, I’d get over whatever was happening. And they didn’t need to know! Why burden them?

The reality is that one does have to share to truly live life and have friends. I am great at being there for other people but wouldn’t let other people be there for me. Finally, after 41 years, I’ve learned it is okay to share. People know I’m not asking for pity. (And if you think I am, give yourself a Texas-sized Gibbs’ smack up the head.) (10 points for identifying the Gibbs’ reference.) People genuinely care and want to understand why you make the decisions you do and why you don’t feel good sometimes, etc.

Thank you to everyone for your lovely and thoughtful comments. I’m still getting used to the idea, but I’m excited about the opportunities ahead of me. Playing more with my daughter, following my communication passions my way versus someone else’s way…but I doubt that I’ll ever get excited about doing laundry. (Sorry, Hubby.)

Now, about this “retirement”. I’m still involved in IABC/Houston and very happy to consult/share my experience with anyone who asks. I hope to become more involved in other social media communication opportunities that Houston offers. And, I do hope to do some local travel so as to explore the state of Texas. I do like road trips. There is a bit of relief of reworking my blog subscriptions so that I have time to subscribe and read the ones I truly like to follow versus trying to stay on top of every new fad. I figure my local involvement will solve that issue. And, of course, I’ll be much more involved with my daughter.

Going forward, I will share more (but not like an unwelcome older relative) and will continue to weigh in on communication topics.

For now, don’t forget that people do care and its okay to share. Savvy?

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

2 thoughts on “Whew!”

  1. I hope this is not from “unwelcome older relative” but there are a few cliches I couldn’t help but think of while reading this: The Lord works in mysterious ways and God always answers your prayers, but maybe not the way you expected. I don’t know if they’re really considered cliches but you get the idea. Another one (that I understand is a proverb) Crisis means challenge and opportunity. I don’t know if that’s the exact verbage but you get the idea. You know how us older folks are…don’t remember stuff like we used to.
    Anyhow, I just want you to know that I am so proud of you, always have been, and know you will be stronger and happier with these decisions.
    Love you,
    Aunt Nancy

Leave a Reply

