Another Customer Service Story

I just had to title this post the way I did. Why? Because I know you’re thinking, “Oh great. Another customer service post”. Just roll with it.

This post is inspired by a conversation with my husband about a recent shopping experience. As background, know that he is a chemist and I am a communicator. (Can you just imagine the conversations we have?)

The other day I went into one of my favorite stores – Brooks Brothers. I needed to invest in a new suit as I pursue my consultancy and other communication projects and/or jobs.

I arrived a few minutes after the store had opened. No one was around but I could hear the employees in the back. I wandered around and found a couple of suits that I liked. I looked for a sales person so I could go to the dressing room. No one was around. I walked to the back of the store and looked at an employee or two so they would know I was there. Nothing.

Finally, I picked up the suit and took it with me to the back of the store. Finally, an employee asked me if I needed help. I asked for a different size and she said she’d go and get it.

A completely different sales person (Ann) came out with the suit and took me to a dressing room. I got settled and noticed that the suit was a size larger than the one I had requested (which isn’t a bad thing – sometimes it’s nice to say, “I need a smaller size”).

Ann apologized and rushed to get me the size I needed. She then ensured I got the help I needed such as the correct fit, hemming the pants, ensuring a quick turnaround for the alterations, following up, asking me why I needed the suit, etc. Basically, she took the time to get to know me and my wants/needs.

She made up for the beginning of the sales experience. I mean, I was playing the scene from “Pretty Woman” in my head. You know the one – “You work on commission, right? Big mistake. HUGE.”

As I recounted this story to my husband, he asked me to do one thing. Ready for this?

He asked, “Would you write about this so I can share it with my sales team? They really don’t understand customer service.”

Know what I did (besides writing about the experience)? I went back and bought another suit from Ann.

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

Leave a Reply

