How To Get Your News

Admission: I am a fan of the show “NCIS”. Both the original and the Los Angeles versions. In addition, I still read the newspaper. The physical paper, which is delivered to my house every morning. 

Tangent #1:  Did I ever tell you that my junior team member told me I was “cute” because I still read the paper?

As I was watching NCIS show last night – okay, I taped it via the DVR as I was watching the Iowa/Georgia Tech game – the beginning of the show had me in hysterics.

The three special agents – DiNozzo, McGee and Ziva – are starting their morning off by searching the Internet for news. They are sending links to each other and finally, Ziva gets frustrated and says, “How hard is it for someone to tell me the news and bring it to me?!”

DiNozzo:  “There must be a better way.”

As soon as they finish this exchange, their boss, Gibbs, who has not been at his desk as this conversation has been going on, arrives and throws down – wait for it – his newspaper!

They all stare at him and he is like, “What?”. (Again, he wasn’t there for their conversation.) I just loved the irony and had to share with you.

I know people say the newspaper is going away and I do not mean to start up the discussion again, but this small scene made a fun statement about how we get our news. I rely on several avenues, depending on what I’m looking for and what I want to know.

Tangent #2: Same junior team member – I handed her my paper this morning so she could read an article on how to prepare for the freezing cold weather happening in Houston. (She is a first-time homeowner.) She actually said, “I don’t know how to open it to find the rest of the article; is it online?”

What do you think?

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

5 thoughts on “How To Get Your News”

  1. Tangent #1 – I love Gibbs!!! [Obviously, I watch NCIS too] and think he is an EXCELLENT communicator. He says EXACTLY, and ONLY what he means, and his “non-verbal” messages are totally aligned with his “verbal” ones. We could learn from him!

    Tangent #2 – Give me a freakin’ break!!!! Come ON!!!! Where was this person raised??? In outer mongolia?? It’s not like the paper is a booby-trapped ancient puzzle-box, dear. Pick it up and use-your problem-solving skills to FIGURE IT OUT!!!!! This kind of stuff makes me irritated . . . just in case you didn’t already get that!

  2. K – I know! It’s hysterical!! I also had to tell her that she needs her passport if she wants to go to the IABC conference in Toronto. 🙂 She is a great person and it is fun mentoring her. 🙂

  3. I’m a an NCIS fan as well. Have to admire Gibbs for always getting right to the point.

    P.S. We don’t DVR. so we had to flip to the game during commercials… 🙂

  4. Funnily enough I don’t get the paper because it just ends up in little piles all around the house. I just figure if there is news that is REALLY important, someone will tell me! Zen and the art of news. 😉

Leave a Reply

