Twitter: You Have A Choice

Numerous people that I admire have weighed in on the “Are celebrities taking over Twitter?” question/debate. After all the publicity around Ashton Kutcher beating CNN to one million followers (who cares?) and Oprah dedicating her show to her debut on Twitter (again, who cares?), I am driven to share my opinion.

I personally don’t think celebrities on Twitter is an issue. Why? Because of this reality check, people: You don’t have to follow celebrities unless you want to do so.

For example, I am a communications professional. I choose (key word: choose) to follow people who are recognized as experts in marketing, public relations, internal and external communications, social/new media, etc., and I follow them because 1) they have proven themselves, 2) they continually share experiences, expertise and invite discussion around topics that affect all of us in these industries, and 3) they are leaders, by example, of how to merge these new communication vehicles into communication strategies.

Some of the people I follow include Ike Pigott, Beth Harte, Geoff Livingston, Chris Brogan, Ron Shewchuk, Seth Godin, Valeria Maltoni, Kami Huyse, Steve and Cindy Crescenzo, David Murray, and many others! (I apologize for not naming everyone.)

So, back to my opinion. Who cares if celebrities are twittering? To me, if their fans are following them, is it not any different than the same fans watching their shows, concerts, movies and buying their magazines and clothing? I don’t do that except when it comes to my Clemson Tigers.

I don’t think celebrities are going to “ruin” Twitter. As with anything else, you have a choice. You can choose to follow whatever group or whichever person you want to follow.

I choose to follow friends, organizations and colleagues that I can learn from, share with, and with whom I can discuss communications.

You can choose who you want to follow.

Simple.

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

4 thoughts on “Twitter: You Have A Choice”

  1. I agree with you 100%. The only problem I have with the celebs on Twitter is that it is slowing down the whole system … they say there have been a considerable amount of more “fail whales” with Twitter since Oprah and Ashton joined.

    I do think, however, it does speak volumes to the strength and power of these new communication tools — especially when you consider that they are free. Doesn’t get any better than that!

  2. Susan, I totally agree. If Oprah, Ashton, Shaq, etc. have fans who want follow them on Twitter and perhaps create a community, I could care less…it’s their community, not mine. In reality there are probably thousands of sub-communities that we are not even aware of. The celebs just get a spotlight because, well, they are celebs and it gives us blog fodder. 😉

    The only question I have thrown out is if celebs should be held to the same standard as corporations. i.e. The need to be authentic (no ghost tweets), transparent, engaging and honest. If we don’t, then I think it’s a bit hypocritical (even if their fans could care less). Just my 2 cents for what it’s worth.

    As for more fail whale sightings, I think Ev knows he needs to fix that ASAP now that he’s mainstream. 😉

  3. Thank you for the kid mention, Susan. I’m not all caught up on the celebrity conversation. I confess that my definition of star varies from that of People magazine 🙂

    Twitter is fashionable now, so everyone is rushing to get with it. Next year it will be something else. I read and follow and spend time with people who think about a timeless way of building ideas and relationships – no matter where they are.

    Geoff Livingston had an interesting take on the power of disintermediation that Twitter gives you in a recent post. Now that is q good thought.

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

