Blinkers

I must vent. But first, I must apologize for letting two weeks go by without posting! Time slipped away from me.

Now, on to the vent.

What is the deal with drivers not using their blinkers? I am not telepathic. If you are going to cut me off and have me slam on brakes, could you at least alert me?

And you know what is really irksome? It’s the drivers of the huge SUVs and fancy cars that don’t use their blinkers. I’d think they would want to be more protective.

Argh.

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

5 thoughts on “Blinkers”

  1. No, you don’t understand – the people who drive those mausoleums on wheels think they are magic and invincible so they just assume that everyone else will magically get out of their way no matter how stupidly they drive.

    When that happens to me, I always wish I had a junky old heap, so I could just slam into them, because we have “no fault” insurance in Ontario which means that each driver’s insurance pays for the repairs to their insured’s vehicle in a “non-injury” collision. So the big fancy SUV driver would have a very expensive claim on their insurance, and I would go merrily on my way because I wouldn’t even bother to put in a claim.

    I do like my car, so I can’t pull that off, but I do fantasize about it – it’s very cathartic when I’ve just been cut off for the fourth time in half an hour!

  2. Sue:

    Kristen is right as usual. The driver of an SUV is imperturbable in his arrogant disdain for what you (or, in this case, me) will do at that four-way stop sign intersection because no matter what you do, if there’s a collision between your (my) Honda Civic and her Ford Explorer, you (I) will lose. Your (my) life.

    So go ahead. Get mad when she doesn’t signal, doesn’t look, keeps gabbing intently on that cell phone of hers. Go ahead. Flip her the bird. Doesn’t matter, because she won’t see it. All she sees is “toy vehicle to my right attempting to cross MY intersection. don’t know when it arrived at its stop sign, but its driver will now learn a quick lesson in SUV etiquette. GET OUT OF THE WAY.”

    Bill Sweetland

  3. I’ve been watching this go on for years. Typically, it’s yammering on a cell phone. Oblivious.

    “I heard that they had a big fight…and they’re on the outs.” Etc.

    Driving while talking on a cell phone should be outlawed as a high misdemeanor or 3rd felony. People driving with earbuds strung to their iPods get popped often (in many states).

    People’s lives are at stake here. Savvy?

    Drive your car. Pay attention to the damn road and nothing else.

    This goes for anyone driving any make of vehicle…not just Hummers and their subordinate knock-offs.

    Lack of road-rule knowledge can easily turn into a forever-lasting mug shot on the Internet.

    Cheers,

    C.

Leave a Reply

