So much fun

I had so much fun at work this morning.  (Yes, you read that sentence correctly.)

This morning I had a meeting with a VP regarding the internal business blog. The objective of the meeting was to educate him on the tool, how to post, what his responsibilities are, what my responsibilities are, as well as discuss some topics for him to blog about.

I opened the conversation by asking him if he had any questions or concerns (I knew he did because he’d sent me an e-mail), and the first concern was…drumroll…”aren’t people too busy for this?”

(Paste smile on my face.)

I responded with my messaging around how this is another vehicle for us to ensure our messages reach ALL of our intended audience, we’re trying to engage employees in the two-way communications they are requesting, in difficult and uncertain times like these communication is even more essential, etc.

Ok. Fine. (For my boss who reads this, it was an extremely friendly conversation.)

Second concern: “What do I write about?”

(Bigger smile pasted on my face. I LOVE these easy questions.)

I shared some ideas I had with him around taking a priority message/objective that falls under him and personalizing it versus just repeating that we need to do this because it is a business objective. For example, let’s pretend he is in charge of safety. Instead of saying “prevention is important to our bottom line”, why not use a more personal, connective message such as, “Wouldn’t it be horrible to not be able to pick up your child because you hurt your back by picking up a heavy box the wrong way?”  (It wouldn’t have to be that drastic or cryptic a message, but I think you can see where I’m going.)

He thought about it and started in on an argument as to why it may not work because people who do not practice good safety habits and have not experienced an injury still won’t see why they need to practice good safety habits. He then went on to say such things as, “If a person has driven his car above the speed limit for years without getting a ticket, they aren’t going to drive the speed limit.”

(I just sat there with a smile on my face.)

He continued, “You know, it’s like sports. In the NHL (National Hockey League, in case anyone is wondering), no one wore a visor until someone got a stick in the face or a puck in the face. People don’t believe in prevention or change until something bad happens.”

And he continued on that thought path for a bit, citing more sports examples.

(My grin got even bigger!)

When he finished and looked to me for my thoughts, I responded, “You just wrote your first blog post”.

He’d worked his way around the idea and by “thinking out loud” made a personal connection to safety. That is why I had so much fun at work this morning.

🙂  🙂  🙂

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

5 thoughts on “So much fun”

  1. #1 – It’s nice to hear someone say she had fun at work.
    #2 – Because you listened and let him present his arguments he then discovered how easy a blog post can be. That’s education at its finest.

Leave a Reply

