Emilyisms

The beauty of young children is that they are secure enough and naive enough to just go ahead and share what is on their minds. I learn so much from my conversations with my daughter. Examples include the following:

Conversation on the way home from school:

Me: How was school today?

E: Fine. I played with my friends.

Me: That does sound like fun!

E: I ate a leaf.

Me: (Startled, bu laughing) Really? Why did you do that?

E: I licked it.

Me: (Still quietly laughing) Why?

E: I want a hot dog for dinner.

(End of conversation)

Dinner Conversation:

E: Mmmm, I like my dinner.

Me: I’m glad, you are doing a good job of eating everything on your plate.

E: M-hm. I’m getting married.

Me: Oh, really?

E: Yes.

Me: Who are you going to marry?

E: You.

Me: Me? Why thank you, I am flattered.

E: You can wear your princess dress (this is my wedding dress).

Me: Thank you.

E: Yep. More ketchup, please.

Don’t you just love these conversations? Don’t you just wish you could change subjects out of the blue at work?

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

3 thoughts on “Emilyisms”

  1. Funnily enough, I do work with people who change subjects kind of like this. In a mental status exam, we refer to this as “flight of ideas.” We’re communicators of a different sort.

    My boys are past the phase where they want to marry me. Now they both want to marry their friend Curtis and all three of them will live happily ever after!

  2. Dear Susan,

    I totally love these OUT OF THE BLUE conversations….kids are so fresh, and say what just comes to mind, besides she is such a smart little girl and soooooo cute, it is such a pleasure to have you guys around, thanks for sharing this and many more ……

    Tell her I said Hi
    Lots of hugs and kisses for you both. Nora

Leave a Reply

