I’m going to Mimi’s

Don’t you love the conversations you have in the car with your children? Below is the conversation I had with my daughter on the way home last night.  (“Mimi” is my mom and remember, my daughter is three.)

Me:  “How was school today?”

E:  “Fine”

Me: “What did you do today?”

E:  “I’m going to Mimi’s.”

Me: (Recognizing extreme change in conversation and smartly going along with it) “Oh? When?”

E:  “Tomorrow”

Me: “How are you getting there?”

E: “Um…I’m going to Mimi’s”

Me: “Yes, but how are you getting there?”

E: “Um, I don’t know, but I’m going tomorrow.”

Me:  “Okay, I’m sure Mimi will be happy to see you.”

E:  “I’m going to Mimi’s! More juice, please.”

NOTE:  Mimi lives in Florida. My daughter is in school today.  🙂

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

20 thoughts on “I’m going to Mimi’s”

  1. K – yes, I am always thrilled when she says “please” and “thank you”. Now we are working on “yes, ma’am”, etc., versus “What?” when addressed. 🙂

  2. Oh, Sheila! (I will not break out into the song.) I started laughing when I read your comment. I never thought of it that way. 🙂 Don’t worry, I’ll be back before you know it (wait, didn’t that happen last time?) 😉

  3. BTW – Is that actually Em in that photo at the top?? If so, where the H-E-double-toothpicks was that taken??? What a GORGEOUS garden!

    That doesn’t look like your dog either, although without the embarassing flower head-gear it is kind of hard to say for sure!

    If you tell me that is your yard, I may have to kill you (I’m just sayin’)

  4. K – I’m in hysterics over (down) here. That is my precious Em and the picture is of her in my mother’s garden. I took it when we were in FL for our extended Hurricane Ike vacation. That is my mom’s dog, a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, aptly named Winston. I do love my mom’s garden – very English. She works in it A LOT!

  5. i thought the same thing as sheila when i read the title…thought maybe you could make it to our little shower thingy on the 18! bummer.

    and i am *seriously* envious of your mom’s garden as well. i would DIE for something like that but not much chance of growing a garden like that here near the beach…between the salt, sun and wind, “lush” is just not in the picture 😦

  6. Ok, who’s the other Amy? I’m going to start signing myself Amy WOLM. Either that, or I’m having serious memory problems!!

  7. ha…that’s funny. and i have friends who call me “ames,” too! i’ll call myself “ameski” for any posts here (combo of first and maiden names).

  8. Heh, the FL crew is certainly weighing in on this! I thought that you were heading back as well! 🙂

    I remember when my girls were about that age, the younger one especially would tell her teachers all these cool things that *I* was doing when I traveled for business. A memorable story was that while on a trip to New York I was to also “attend the Video Music Awards”

    Evidently the child was pretty convincing– the teacher actually asked me about it upon my return! 🙂

  9. Leslie, I’m feeling the love from FL!! 🙂 I love that you “attended the VMAs”. HA! That is great!! Did you tell the teacher your daughter was mistaken or did you have fun with it?

  10. Well I’m glad I wasn’t the only one with questions like, “Is that Susan’s daughter in that gorgeous photo?” and, “Where on earth was it taken?” Speaking of which, my next question is, “WHO DID YOUR CHRISTMAS CARD??” My friend Carla made me promise to find out. Since it has no company name or logo on the back, she’s speculating that you crafted that card using nothing but your own talent and perhaps a copy of PhotoShop. So, what’s the deal?

    BTW, “Oh Sheila” was the last song played at my wedding reception. Seems people from the 80’s just can’t let that one go 🙂

  11. I did the Christmas card on my MacBook – iPhoto. I just opted not to let them include the “Made on an Apple” logo. It was SSSSSOOOOOO easy, and this was the first time I did it. I’m hoping to expand on it next year.

    Re: the last song at your wedding reception. Please tell me you rolled your eyes while laughing hysterically. 😉

  12. K – What?! I mailed it. In fact, if you must know, I asked Ames if I needed a special stamp. (Silly me.) I went to the post office and stood in line because I wanted to be sure it MADE it to you. CRAP!

Leave a Reply

