Keep building

A couple of posts ago, specifically “Let’s provide solutions in the new year”,  I mentioned Amber Naslund’s call to action for 2009 in her post, “Are we sharing solutions or soundbites?”. I then went on to detail a bit about my intial plans for my business internal communications plan.

Well, the initial steps have been taken in that I have submitted two leadership messages that should be distributed to two audiences next week. One will go to all employees from the business president, and one will go from a VP to his team. The VP’s message will be specific to his business unit but will build on the president’s message.

I hope to help several other lead team members follow this VP’s example next week as well. I see this as the first step of executing my 2009 plan and bringing the business leaders I support along the path of more effective communications (quality, not quantity). The next step will be to introduce them to blogging by setting up an internal business blog. They will all participate, but will take turns. One VP per month, with my team supporting them.

I see true opportunity for success with my internal business blog because at the same time, the public affairs group that I report into will see a blog by our leader start up this month. It is specifically geared to the communications group (it’s a large group) and this approach is similar to the blog approach I plan on taking with my business clients (the lead team).

As I see it, I am educating and experimenting with my clients, while participating in a new blog project myself with another leader in the company. This just has to result in many learnings at a fast pace, and, with measurement happening on both blogs, it will give me great insight into what works and what doesn’t for these two internal, but very different, audiences (communicators and engineers).

One objective I hope to achieve this year is to keep you updated by way of my personal blog on what is happening. I hope to provide insight on how social media can be successful in large global companies that can be relatively conservative.

Does anyone else have a specific objective they want to achieve in 2009?

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

One thought on “Keep building”

Leave a Reply

