Snow

It snowed in Houston last night. Really, it did. I’ve attached pictures to prove it.

Here is the highlight:  Watching my daughter experience snow for the first time. Her enthusiasm and utter joy just filled me with happiness.

Once she finally agreed to be dressed appropriately, we couldn’t get her back inside. (This was a slight problem as bedtime came and passed.)

What is it about snow that gives one a sense of calm? (I recognize that many of you live in areas where you have blizzards, etc., and despise it after one month of winter, but I’m talking about the first snow.) With all of the stressful items going on in my life right now, I was at complete peace watching the snow fall. Almost like spring does, the snow gave me a sense of creating a blank slate, and that anything is possible.

Enjoy the pictures!

catching-snowflakesjandeinthesnow

Published by

Susan

Susan Cellura is a marketing communications professional with over 20 years of experience. She is a dynamic communications professional and enthusiastic team-builder, with a progressive history of success in designing and implementing communications programs for global organizations. A strategic thinker with the ability to understand the needs of multiple audiences and deliver solutions, Susan is a results-oriented problem-solver with exceptional interpersonal and negotiation abilities. Having worked in a variety of global industries, she has grown business communications in her current position via a strong mixture of strategic resources, including social media.

One thought on “Snow”

  1. As soon as it started snowing, I ran out of Waterway and just put my face up and let it fall down on me. I now have a cold, but it was worth it. Snow reminds me of growing up in Boston and having snow days from school. Blizzards and nor’easters were a blast. My mom bundling us in leggings and mittens, scarfs, hats, sweaters, snow suits. Playing out in the snow til we were frozen. Sledding down hills, snowball fights, snow forts. My brothers burying me in snow (I was the youngest) and leaving me there until my mom yelled at them to get me out. Bright red frozen faces. Then moving to Colorado and seeing snow-capped mountains all year. New fallen snow is clean and just invites you to jump into it. Or driving my car in a parking lot and making donuts (which is sliding your car on purpose to make a figure 8–hey, it’s a skill). Days off from work. Something about snow bring out my hearty New England stock. Is there anything better than hot coco with marshmallows when you’re frozen to the bone??? Well maybe a hot buttered rum!!

Leave a Reply

